Project 52 | ROUTINE

52:18

Love is:

ROUTINE

Some days feel like groundhog day in my house, and I know I am not alone in that feeling.  It is the place we are at with the kids being young and commitments to school, sports, work and family events generally dictating the schedule.  It is consistent but about as mundane as a circus act.  I am thankful for that, because as someone who is basically a right-brained, creative type who excels in procrastination, routine is a foul, foul word.  It grates.  It extinguishes my creative flow and at the same time I know there is no other option.  I’m thankful for a husband that recognizes this and attempts to make it fun.  I attempt to do my best with our daily schedules because I know how it makes his day easier and allows the kids some consistency.  There is love in our routine.  Is it passionate?  Not always.  Is it exciting and new?  Not when you generally do the same thing day after day.  But does the love grow?  You bet it does.  Am I more in love with my family day after day?  Absolutely.  There is something very special about sticking out the norm with your loved ones.  You realize they are people you can count on.  I was waving to Omar as he backed out of the driveway last week when a thought hit me:  In all of our twelve years together I have never heard him complain about having to go to work.  I have complained about him going, but he never has.  I always knew he had a superhuman work ethic, but even hard workers sometimes complain.  I asked him why and he shrugs it off… says we are all doing our part.  I love that.  Love is routine, and it gives us a baseline so we can recognize what is truly exceptional in our lives.  Love grows even in the confines of the terrible “R” word, as we all do our part, knowing we can count on each other.

***

To enjoy other wonderful Project 52′s, click on the links below!

styleberryBLOG | Love & Life | Lucas & Mahina

2 Comments to “Project 52 | ROUTINE”

  1. I know you write these posts for your sons, but you teach me much with your words. Thank you.

    P.S. I can hear the hiss of your espresso machine in that pic.

  2. I never would have thought to pair love with routine. But I can see how they would fit together like a perfect puzzle. Thanks for this!

Leave a comment