Joyful Work-a-holics


Growing up, working alongside my parents doing chores and caring for our house and things, we worked as a family. I learned invaluable lessons about diligence, respect, enjoying the time spent together and enjoying the finished product.  I watched them “work hard so you can play hard.”  To this day it brings me peace knowing I did what needed to get done, and did it well.  Over the years I have had the privilege of spending time with my in-laws, who like my parents have an incredible work ethic, passed on from generation to generation. Naturally, (and thankfully) Omar and I feel the same about work and responsibility.  We hope that by including the kids in what needs to get done, they will feel a sense of ownership and responsibility to the world around them, and somehow develop a solid work ethic that they can be proud of.  Mostly, I hope they enjoy their work, whatever it may be, knowing that when they finish well they can take a look around and feel that peace of a job well done.   At the end of the day, rest comes with the price of diligence, but who says you can’t have a little fun while you’re at it???

Doing it together… making it fun!

…sharing the love…

And finally, to rest…

3 Comments to “Joyful Work-a-holics”

  1. You continue to amaze and humor me my beautiful niece! Love you and yours 🙂

  2. Beautifully said and photo-journaled!

Leave a Reply

