Tooth Fairy, save your pennies.

It is early. Dark. The house is at total peace because nothing with great amounts of testosterone has arisen from slumber yet. I’m enjoying a quiet moment with my coffee and the sound of the rain when I hear the pitter patter of not so tiny, but rather chunky flat-footed steps barreling awkwardly and half asleep through the house.

My mighty-might is awake and already activated his “go” switch.

I hear him talking to Gabe, moving Gabe’s bedding around… the sound of the step-ladder being drug across tile at such an obnoxious time in the morning grabs my undivided attention.  “Lucas, what are you looking for?”  Like a needle in a haystack, Gabe’s recently lost tooth falls from its hiding place in the covers, and Luke’s face falls with it.  Apparently, (unbeknownst to me AND the tooth fairy) Lucas saw to it that Gabe’s tooth made it under the pillow before bedtime.  OOPS!  You can imagine his disappointment and my scrambling to preserve his innocence, all the while daddy sleeps peacefully undisturbed:)  But the little do-er that he is, he climbs down from Gabe’s bed, thunders through the house, gathers the materials and sits down to set the fairy straight. 

Dear Tooth Fairy,

 Here is Gabe’s tooth. 

He doesn’t want money, because he could choke on it.  He doesn’t know how to spend it.  He doesn’t want a helicopter, because that is what I want when I lose MY tooth.  Please leave a toy music box under Gabe’s pillow.

Love,

Lucas

And you better believe that after such a thoughtful suggestion, Gabe will wake up to a music box under his pillow.  The tooth fairy can take that as a lesson learned, and save her pennies… I have a feeling that when it’s Mighty-might’s turn, she’s going to need them!

7 Comments to “Tooth Fairy, save your pennies.”

  1. OMG, this is too sweet! This child of yours never ceases to amaze me. I love this blog and I love all of you!

  2. This brought tears to my eyes. What a totally thoughtful brother. He will surely grow up to be a wonderful man. 🙂

  3. And, Dani, in every house, the tooth fairy screws up once in a while. But it’s ok. 🙂

  4. how incredibly adorable! all these sweet stories are such a beautiful reflection of the admirable and wonderful job you two do as parents. lucky kiddos!

Leave a comment